Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

El Teatro de Danza Contemporanea


April 20, 2018-April 20, 2018 | $20 - $30

Joy of Motion Dance Center presents El Teatro de Danza Contemporanea
Founder Producing/Artistic Director, Miya Hisaka
Choreographers, Stuart Loungway, Lloyd Whitmore and Therese Gahl

Joy of Motion Dance Center presents one of its Resident Companies, El Teatro de Danza Contemporanea (TDC), showcasing some of the finest classical repertory as well as recent Company contemporary season premieres. TDC is proud to present special guest choreographers Stuart Loungway (Artistic Director of Terra Firma Dance, formerly of San Francisco and Houston Ballet), Lloyd Whitmore (former Associate Director, Philadanco, Atlanta Ballet), and company member Therese Gahl (The Washington School of Ballet, Ballet West). The program consists of  Songs Without Words by Whitmore, a 3-section uplifting neoclassical ensemble created to the allegro music of Brandenberg, Bach, and the luscious adagio music of Bobby McFerrin. Loungway’s excerpt from Mockingbird, an abstracted story of love, loss and redemption, features the high-octane, sheer physicality of Terra Firma guest performing artist, Morgann Rose (formerly Elliot Feld Ballet, Washington Ballet). Gahl’s uplifting excerpts from Spectra, reflecting the sensations of the color spectrum through neoclassical dance. The Company’s most recent contemporary world premieres, I Don’t Want What I Haven’t Got, the 7th work created for TDC by Whitmore. This lighting quick Horton full ensemble work, created to the music of Sinead O’Connor, reflects all that happens in the alley late at night.

The Company is proud to expand its membership to 14, with some of the area’s most recognized concert dance artists: Maurice Johnson, JP Flores, Max Maisey, Michael Bradford, Chandini Darby, Joan Ayap, Chiesa Mason, Therese Gahl, Wanyi Ng, Zenas Okanlowan, Rebecca Presti, Kate Page, Marina Castilla and Ian Edwards.



The Paul Sprenger Theatre
1333 H Street NE
Washington, DC 20002 United States